ILYA Session One Ends on No-Race Day

ILYA Session One Ends on No-Race Day ©2008 Pat Dunsworth Related topics:

13 August 2008

As Published By Scowlines - This photo does not do justice to the beauty of the Okoboji YC building but it demonstrates the activity level as the first session of the '08 ILYA Championships concludes. The trophy presentation expressed the genuine appreciation of the sailors for the 'Boji effort. Perhaps the most articulate was M-16 champ Jan Gill who said it for us all. This week has been an all out show on land as well as the water as these Iowa folks give us the best hospitality around. Thanks to Brad Farrar who is a blur of speed all day. He manages the club year round but shines each day we are here. Club officer Sheryl Jones has been there nonstop serving the ILYA sailors.

Burdick and Crew Take E Title
Andy Burdick credited his team for the Team 45 victory. He has the privilege of a consistent team of Peter Keck (who sails on his A, E and in the old days C. Peter is a C Nationals and ILYA Champ in his own right), Coye Harrett (also on the Burdick/Blanchard A scow and off to Edgewood College in Madison) and Meg Six (off to the UW Madison sailing team). Burdick's race finishes demonstrate his continued skill in any class. For E fleet results, click here.

Colburn Finally Wins
Three times a bridesmaid!. Colburn confided he has wanted this title and he could not appear more moved. With longtime crew Martha Long, Colburn dominated the fleet. He is a past Invitational winner but is also an avid promoter for the fleet. What a great winner! For MC results, click here.

Jan and Debbie Gill Top M-16 Fleet
Jan and Debbie Gill took home the M-16 gold but left Okoboji with golden words to remember. Gill seemed so genuinely thankful to this hosting club for its efforts. From their hosting family to the gracious club, Gills enjoyed the event ----- straight race wins didn't hurt! M-16 results.

In the hoopla of the trophy presentation, Commodore Porter inadvertently skipped thanking the E fleet race committee. This is a reminder to thank all RC but a special recognition to PRO Mike Sherin, Nancy and Russ Ackley, Pat Kardos and OYC members Stuart Potter and Steve Rose.