Light Air Dominates Day One Of The I.L.Y.A. Championship Second Session

Light Air Dominates Day One Of The I.L.Y.A. Championship Second Session Related topics:

14 August 2008

As Published By Scowlines - The A Open fleet got in two races today with a split in the winner's circle. Steve Johnson of White Bear won race one and Tom Erickson of Clear Lake won race two. Results

I-20s completed two races today with the latest start time of the three fleets. After a long day, John Hayashi sits atop the leader board with a 1-2; Willy Crear is 2nd; Jeff Marquardt with his two sons wins the tiebreaker for third; last year's winner Aaron Lynn sits in fourth and Fond du Lac's Dave Whealon is in fifth. Geroge Winter came in with a breakdown in race one. Results

Fifty C boats sailed one race in light air. Beulah's Kent Haeger/Mike Greeson team won the race. Homelake boy Doug Norton sailed into second. Beulah sailor Brian Brickler sits in third; Minnetonka Jason Ostbye fourth; Beulah Martin Barr is fifth; Lotawana Greg Clagett is sixth, Master from Minnetonka John Packard seventh; Beulah Anne Porter Muller eighth; Geneva's Jamie Kimball ninth and Minnetonka's Chris Andert in tenth. Results

Another wonderful free party last night with a Mexican theme. The most plentiful buffet with music and games awaited the C fleet when they came in from an afternoon attempt. A's and I-20s were onshore after two races. Egg toss and a one-handed baseball game. What's that? Participants were required to hold a beverage (guess what that might be?) for pitching, running bases or at bat. A rousing game with loads of cheering.

There's an early start on Day 2 in an attempt to get three races in each fleet due to a forecasted 2-5 mph on Saturday.