C Scow Inland Championship - Kimballs 1st, Haeger/Greeson 2nd, Muller/Skotarzak

C Scow Inland Championship - Kimballs 1st, Haeger/Greeson 2nd, Muller/Skotarzak ©2008 Pat Dunsworth Related topics:

19 August 2008

As published by NCSSA - Jamie and Rob Kimball I-17 added a red "C" to go with that newly earned gold "C". The Kimballs closed out the regatta the way a Champion should with a first and a second in Saturday's final two races. They overcame a one point deficet to Anne Muller and Joe Skotarzak B-217. Anne was trying to become the sixth female skipper to ever win the C Inland Championship, and the first in over 50 years (Jane Pagel 1957). Kent Haeger and Mike Greeson B-12 were 9 points back of the Kimballs. Kent has won every other regatta out there, but has yet to shed his blue "C". The way these two are racing it probably won't be long until they reach their goal.

Two races were sailed on Saturday. The breeze remained in the 5 to 10 mph range but shifted to the west from Millers Bay. Race Five got off cleanly on the first start attempt. The fleet reached the first mark with all four of the top boats nestled together in the top ten - Muller, Kimball, Haeger and Brian Brickler B-18. The first group immediately gybed at the offset. Some of these boats would pay as the boats that worked the right side of the leeward leg made their move. The big excitement of the race came at the second windward leg. Muller, Kimball and others seemingly reached the mark together. When it sorted out Muller had to spin a circle for touching the buoy while Kimball escaped to claim the lead on the last downwind. The final windward leg had Kimball keeping a soft cover on Haeger while making sure a few others - Will Haeger B-1, Chris Andert M-25 and Mark Frashier MO-99 - didn't ruin his victory  Top five for Race Five:

1. Jamie Kimball, I-27

2. Chris Andert, M-25

3. Kent Haegar, B-12

4. Mark Frashier, MO-99

5. Will Haegar, B-1

10. Anne Muller, B-217

13. Brian Bickler, B-18

Race Six began with Kimball in first with 36 points, Haeger in second with 42 points, and Muller in third with 44 points. The fleet went through one recall before getting off the starting line. Lance Avery P-4 and Ed Eckert A-136 led up top, with Kimball, Haeger and Muller close by. The rest of the race Haeger, Muller and Brickler took their shots to get up top, but no matter what happened Kimball's grip on the top of the fleet was solid. Lance Avery with Peter Rogers won a close finish over Kimball much to the delight of the Okoboji spectator fleet. Top six for Race Six:

1. Lance Avery, P-4

2. Jamie Kimball, I-17

3. Paul Reilly, A-14

4. Brian Bickler, B-18

5. Kent Haegar, B-12

6. Anne Mueller, B-217

Full Results

Upcoming Events for the C Scow:


6/7 - Maxinkuckee Fall Regatta; Maxinkuckee Yacht Club

13/14 - Blue Chip; Pistakee Yacht Club

13/14 - Fenton Fall Regatta; Lake Fenton Yacht Club

20/21 - Beulah Challenge; Lake Beulah Yacht Club

20/21 - Lotawana Fall Regatta; Missouri Yacht Club

27/28 - Polar Bear Regatta; Lake Davenport Sailing Club


4-5 - Worlds; Delavan Lake Yacht Club