Roberto Pardini Commands The Melges 32 Fleet In Lerici After One Day Of Racing

Roberto Pardini Commands The Melges 32 Fleet In Lerici After One Day Of Racing © 2009 | Max Ranchi Related topics:

8 May 2009

The brand new Sardinian Melges 32 team of Roberto Pardini aboard Janas is in the lead after the first day of racing at the second 2009 Audi Sailing Series event of the season with a 8-2-4 score line. Tied for second place overall is Luigi Melegari on Matrix with a 2-6-7, and Claudio Recchi on Team 93 with a 14-1-2 finish for the day. In fourth is Carlo Alberini on Calvi Network.

Light breezes and an unsettled wind direction was what teams were left to contend with on the first day of racing at opening day of the second Audi Sailing Series event in Lerici. These are exceptionally tough conditions, a real trap for several of the very best competitors that anticipate success.

At the top of the standings, it is little surprise to find Roberto Pardini and his crew aboard Janas commanding the fleet. With a very balanced approach, never extreme delivered an 8-2-4 place finish. Their consistency and patience was well-rewarded at the end of the three-race first day. The translator on board Roberto Maffini commented about the team. "From top to bottom, this team has equal the fire power and experience as the famous top Team 93 helmed by 2008 Audi Sailing Series Champion Claudio Recchi and Calvi Network's Carlo Alberini with Gabriele Benussi on tactics."

A first and a second place finish for Recchi, and two wins for Alberini are perfect examples of the very trying conditions. They go into the final days of racing respectively third and fourth due to fatal finishes — a 14th in the first race for Recchi and a 16th for Alberini were tough to swallow setbacks. Luigi Melegari and his Matrix Melges 32 suffered a similar fate. With Matteo Ivaldi on tactics, they didn't have a finish worse than seventh, leaving them to settle for second overall. The leader is only one step away.

The list continues with Francesco Martino, Stefano Di Properizio, Mauro Mocchegiani, Ernesto Faraco, Antonello Morina, Lanfranco Cirillo, Filippo Pacinotti, Edoardo Lupi, Peter Rogers, Stuart Simpson, Savino Formentini, Edoardo Pavesio, Ferdinando Battistella and Joe Woods all finishing respectively.

Stay close as more information will be published as it becomes available, in the meantime check out some cool photos courtesy of Max Ranchi and Guido Trombetta.