Kate Klement Wins Prestigious Pillsbury Cup

Kate Klement Wins Prestigious Pillsbury Cup I.L.Y.A. Related topics:

15 February 2010

Pillsbury Award - Kate Klement

Beulah's X skipper Kate Klement was awarded the prestigious Pillsbury Award which represents the Best of the Best. ILYA champs from all classes are eligible to receive this award. Selection is made by recommendation from the delegates of the ILYA. Klement won three races in the 65-boat Senior X boat fleet.

Green Lake Thanked for Wonderful ILYA Champs

Sue Weston of Green Lake accepted kudos for a job well done at a favorite venue. Commodore Prange noted the exceptional effort of the volunteers at Green Lake. Weston recognized the many years of service of Bill MacNeil.

Suzi Reese Named Ed Malone Recipient

In Reese's absence, a video was shown featuring an interview with Dick Barkow about the special experiences of 19 years of No Tears race committee work. With a few humorous moments that entertained the lunch crowd, Reese received a huge round of applause for her service.

Gull Lake is Big Winner - Dreissen Family Named Members of the Year; Gull Lake is Named Club of the Year

It was a grand day for Gull Lake, Minnesota! From a perfect sailing lake, to the dedicated Dreissen Family, to a herculean effort to prepare the site for the ILYA X Champs, it was Gull all the way as Commodore Prange presented both Member and Club of the Year to Jim Johnson, Gull Lake Commodore. Prange and then Johnson awed the crowd with an entertaining account of the building of a clubhouse to bring the X Champs to the north country.  A somewhat clandestine but well-executed plan brought the old cinder block house down in December -- to many members' surprise and a six-month frenetic building campaign to present the X sailors and parents with a most spectacular venue.

Commodore Jim Johnson accepted the trophies with an acceptance speech that was a promotional speech unsurpassed for the ILYA and its benefits. He was eloquent in describing his brief affilliation with our organization and its lasting impact on his impression of our fine organization. We look forward to our continuing friendship with this club, the 28-member Dreissen family who served us (only a 60% participation rate) and this and past fine commodores of Gull Lake.

Bilge Puller Hall of Fame inductees

Poignancy was the word of the day. The posthumous awarding of the Hall of Fame award to Snake and Snuff (Charles and Jack) Schneider of Nagawicka brought Snuff and emcee Tom Hodgson to a point of hesitation to recover their emotions. These beloved two have served the Inland for more cumulative hours than imaginable.

Shown here are Snake Schneider's wife Dorothy and Snuff receiving the award.

Dick Casper of Pine was awarded entry into the Bilge Puller Hall of Fame. Casper is wellknown for his E scow prowess but recently is known as the originator of the Hall of Fame which now features members.

Last new entrant to the 2010 class of Hall of Fame is Walter "Wally" Schmidt who was visibly moved by his inclusion. Wally has held virtually every position in every scow organization: WYA, ILYA, Bilge Pullers and his homelake of Okauchee. Included in his expertise are organizational, legal and sailing skills. He thanked all his children for their support in crewing positions. His exception was son Steve who has never shied from an attempt to beat him. Congratulations to all our Hall of Fame inductees.

In addition the Bilge Puller Cannon was awarded to Jeff Butzer in absentia.

UW-Madison Sailing Team Thanks Inland Clubs

UW sailors Leif Evensen and Christine Porter attended the Inland Lake Yachting Association's annual Winter Inland. Evensen and Porter began by receiving a $3000+ check from Delavan Lake Yacht Club. Delavan stands out as the latest of Inland clubs generously fundraising for the 2010 Collegiate Nationals in Madison. Delavan joins Beulah and Geneva at the $3000 level. Other clubs recognized for the total Inland contributions of $14,850 are Calhoun, Cedar, LaBelle, Pewaukee,Minnetonka, Oshkosh, Beaver, Pine, White Bear, Neenah. In addition South Shore and Milwaukee yacht clubs have joined the fundraising effort.

The Badgers have been the recipients of a total $32,800 which moves them near the MINIMUM $40,000 in cash donations required to run the event.

Thanks to the Badgers' major benefactor Terry Kohler, the team has reduced the actual money required. Kohler is the major contributor at $10,000 but also provided the donation of the 18 sets of sails for the event.

In a bold move, Event chairs Christine Porter and Carrie Bargren and fundraising chairs Leif Evensen and Kristina Schaldach have committed to the purchase of 12 new boats. The 12-boat existing fleet will travel to Geneva and Calhoun to support high school sailing efforts which will allow Midwest sailors to prepare for the collegiate scene.

Look for current Burgee Clubs (burgees flying on Park Street, website and program) Beulah, Delavan, Geneva, Calhoun, Labelle, Cedar, Oshkosh, Pine, White Bear, South Shore and Milwaukee to be joined by others as the regatta nears. The team is in its final fundraising push.

Delavan sailors Richard Beers, Larry Kmiecik, Ed Clair join Leif Evensen and Christine Porter.

Thanks to those Inland club sparkplugs who spearheaded efforts to fundraise for the collegiate nationals - a showcase of Midwest hospitality and generosity.