50 Years of Icebreaker – Paul Reilly Wins Big Scow Event

Related topics:

7 May 2012

2012 Icebreaker Champion, Paul Reilly
Paul Reilly, 2012 Icebreaker Champion
©2012 Melges USA

Cedar Lake, Indiana has been the site for the famous Icebreaker C scow regatta. Every spring sailors travel from around the USA to visit this fantastic regatta.  This year was the 50th anniversary and over 40 boats were in attendance.  

In 1962 Lou Morgan from Lac Labelle, Wisconsin won the very first Icebreaker Championship racing his C named Hull No. Fifty years later another C scow legend won the Icebreaker event: Paul Reilly from Big Cedar Lake, Wisconsin. Reilly popped open a brand new Melges C for the season and was out of the box fast with a 1-3-1 scorecard to win! Bob Biwer from Pewaukee was 2nd, Mark Smith from Okauchee was 3rd, Tim Schmidt from Okauchee was 4th and Andrew Bohl from Lake Beulah was 5th.  

There is a lot to be said for tradition. To see the families over the years enjoy the camaraderie and fun racing at this unique and exciting sailing venue.  

The Icebreaker will be happening next year too – 2013. Be there!

Sailing Season is here – gear up!