Ed Eckert and Matt Schmidt Win 2012 C Scow National Championship!

Related topics:

18 June 2012

A new winner is named but the fleet could see it coming. Last season it was a rehearsal for this week's event. Ed Eckert with Matt Schmidt from Cedar, WI, has sailed at the top of the game for several years but never has taken the National title. This year Ed and Matt sailed a tough series but it took the last tack to detemine the winner. After six races, it was a slim 2 points separating A136 from a young B16 George and Jim (not so young) Kutschenreuter. With one throwout after six races, it was a tight race among five sailors. At the start of the last race three of the leaders were over early but Eckert worked his  way back to a sixth; Kutsch to a ninth. Top junior was George Kutsch; top master was Mark Prange; top female was Christine Porter. 

Top Ten:
1 - A136 - Ed Eckert/Matt Schmidt
2 - B16 - George Kutschenreuter/Jim Kutschenreuter/Robbie Norris
3 - N181- Peter Keck/Dan Keck/Alex Keck
4 - BL3 - Patrick Lynch/Chris Impens
5 - E55 - Scott Tarmann, Casey/Sam/Jeannie Andreski
6 - E1 - Mark Prange/Bob Stelter/Alana Smith
7 - B17 - David Porter/Katie Porter/Chloe Kiekhafer/John Powell
8 - B303 - Frank Davenport/Ron Jarecki
9 - B1 - Will Haeger/Brad Roble/Teresa Westin
10 - B12 - Kent Haeger/Mike Greeson 

The fleet was filled with signs of a healthy future. George Kutsch took two race wins but Will Haeger with Brad Roble was sitting in second after the first day. Eleven of the 66 boats were juniors. Beulah wins the participation prize. Beulah sent 16 boats to the event with another nine sitting at home. WYA past commodore Kent Haeger promises a larger contingent at the WYA.

At the other end of the spectrum Kevin Gifford was heard to say how much he respected Mark Prange, David Porter and Paul Reilly as the old guys still "have it".

PRO Chip Mann ran the full series without a general recall which is a credit to the RC work but also this is the first season C sailors can use the Velocitek. It is unknown the number of units used but at least one more was added as the company co-sponsored the event and donated an additional unit for a raffle item. The RC set great starting lines with extraordinary length visually to provide a fair opportunity.

Delavan hosted the C fleet for the second consecutive week. Rumor has it 15 empty quarter barrels stood outside the club. The generosity of DLYC was evident throughout the event: 30 boats were housed at members' homes and that's an accomplishment for a club with a small C fleet.  

The trophy presentation also provided an opportunity for the National C fleet to bid goodby to Tim Krech as president. Christine Porter was added to the Board. The national ranking awards were presented. This smart fleet awards regatta participation which results in great promotion of local events throughout the year. Cedar's Jim Tewes with Jenny Barkow Jaessing brought the entourage last season to nearly every event and he walked away with the title "top ranked sailor 2011" demonstrating his high skill as well as fun factor. Mark Prange and Ed Eckert sat second and third after a year's racing.