LaBelle's Evensen Team Tops 66 To Take 2013 C Scow National Championship Title

Related topics:

17 June 2013

Article courtesy of Scowlines - Leif Evensen and brother Erik led the 2013 C Scow Nationals from the start. It was a most challenging 6-race series in mostly light air races or variable, shifty winds. Finally the Sunday weather provided some more consistent sailing.

He was challenged by Beulah's Will Haeger/Brad Roble who won the event on total points but completing the sixth race provided a throwout which allowed Evensen to regain the lead. With the throw out, Evensen had no race worse than 11th. WITHOUT the throwout, Haeger had no race worse than 12th. In this fleet of at least nine Inland or Nationals champs, that is quite a feat.

Not to be outdone, father Kent Haeger with Mike Greeson was third and the top master. After dad Haeger's throwout, he did not have a race worse than 10th.It speaks volumes to the strength of college sailing to see Wisconsin's Evensen and Tufts' Will Haeger as 1-2 overall and top 1-2 juniors.

1.) Leif Evensen
2.) Will Haeger
3.) Kent Haeger
4.) Andy Burdick
5.) Dave Smith
6.) Chris Andert
7.) Tom Frentzel
8.) Ed Eckert
9.) Tim Krech
10.) Peter Keck
11.) Bruce Rosenheimer
12.) Hans Zinn
13.) Paul Reilly
14.) Kurt Mihelich
15.) Frank Davenport

A special award was presented to Chris Andert for his many years of dedication to the C fleet as editor of C World. Andert has relocated to FL but will return for guest appearances. We and Minnetonka will miss him.

Ed Eckert was awarded with the NCSSA Points Trophy for overall best combination of performances in 2012. It was touching to see the return of Lisa Penticoff to present the award in memory of great sailor Bob Penticoff. This was the 20th anniversary of the awarding of this Trophy.

Thanks to Pewaukee for a great event. The racing schedule of one race Friday, two Saturday made for a great opportunity to socialize before the heavy three-race Sunday. The race committee was kept busy with multiple course changes and wind conditions. Thanks to PRO Chip Mann with his "regulars" for a challenging event.