R.J. & Vincent Porter Crowned 2014 Melges 17 I.L.Y.A. Champions!

R.J. & Vincent Porter Crowned 2014 Melges 17 I.L.Y.A. Champions! ┬ęDallas Johnson Related topics:

21 July 2014

Lake Geneva, Wisconsin — The 2014 Melges 17 I.L.Y.A. Championship took place this weekend, hosted by the Lake Geneva Yacht Club in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. With no racing taking place on Saturday due to lack of wind, Sunday presented the opportunity to get in two races for the fifteen-strong fleet. The first race was won by 2014 I.L.Y.A. Champ RJ Porter, while Race Two went to Will and Bill Barrett.

Congratulations are in full order for R.J. and Vincent Porter as they managed to outscore 2013 Melges 17 National Champion Harry Melges IV, with his dad Harry Melges, III as crew on count back for the overall win. Kyle Navin and his father Dave took third, just ahead of the dynamic husband and wife team Deb and Jim Gluek in fourth, another tie breaker broken on count back. The Barretts finished up fifth, beating Hans Joseph Melges and his dad Hans in sixth.

As always, this fleet was full of very cool family driven father-son, siblings, best friends and cousin-paired filled teams - such as John Schumacher sailing with his lovely wife Margo coming in nineth and Colin and Finn Rowe finishing tenth. It was great fun — a great family filled weekend!

More great racing is coming up soon with the W.Y.M.A. Regatta on July 30-August 2 in Grand Rapids, and the 2014 National Championship happening on August 8-10 at Gull Lake Country Club. Register for these events today and get on the super fun action of racing the Melges 17!

FULL RESULTS (FINAL — After Two Races)
1.) RJ Porter/Vincent Porter; 1-3 = 4T
2.) Harry Melges IV/Harry Melges, III; 2-2 = 4T
3.) Kyle Navin/Dave Navin; 6-4 = 10T
4.) Deb Gluek/Jim Gluek; 4-6 = 10T
5.) Will Barrett/Bill Barrett; 11-1 = 12T
6.) Hans Joseph Melges/Hans Melges; 3-9 = 12T
7.) Jacob Stout/Hunter Sharpe; 9-5 = 14
8.) Andy Colombe/Jordan Fritz; 5-10 = 15
9.) John Schumacher/Margo Schumacher; 8-8 = 16
10.) Colin Rowe/Finn Rowe; 10-7 = 17
11.) Nathan Freytag/Daniel Pearce; 7-13 = 20
12.) Chris Colombe/Jordan Kaerek; 12-11 = 23
13.) Dale Katzfey; 13-12 = 25
14.) Thomas Whowell/Tom Whowell; 15-14 = 29T 
15.) Theo Rolfs/Molly Ziegler; 14-15 = 29T